Michael Phelps has yet to master the art of the car-bar.
If you didn't hear, Baltimore police arrested the big man for drunken driving last Sunday. It's his second offense.
Professional athletes live beneath an intense spotlight. From behind television and computer screens, the general public judges these high-profile individuals' every move. I think most of us forget they are in fact people.
Now, Michael messed up. Big time. He should be punished the same as I would be if I were ever convicted of drunken driving.
My issue is how much further his punishment will go.
The sports world, from the National Football League to the National Curling Association, has this ideology that they must strike down on their athletes mistakes with great vengeance and furious anger.
It doesn't make sense to me.
The night my varsity football team won a section championship, state troopers arrested my coach for drunken driving. He messed up, and because of the mistake, he's facing legal and social repercussions that will taint his image for life.
But that Monday, he was in school doing his normal routine.
Everyday people make mistakes. Teachers get DUI's. Dentists evade taxes . Police officers murder. Those people (basically) keep their jobs until they're thrown in the slammer.
Michael will lose sponsors, supporters and admirers. He will get a nasty fine and I'm sure his mother will give him a stern talking to. A few more offenses and he could be in jail.
So, why suspend him? Those big toilet bowls seem to be all he's good for.
No comments:
Post a Comment